How to use Instant Override

CyberPatrol • 22 June 2015

Instant Override feature gives you temporary access to websites that have been blocked because they fall into to a blocked category, or because the time restrictions have been exceeded.

 

To access Instant Override settings:

Open the HQ toolbar (Start > All Programs > CyberPatrol > Headquarters).

Click Open HQ button and enter your HQ password.

Click on Customize Filter Settings.

Click on Customize button next to Instant Override.

 

 

Setting up Instant Override:

From the 'Instant Override' screen click on Customize Instant Override button.

The Instant Override Settings screen below enables you to define the following:

Enable Instant Override - select this check box to enable Instant Override. This will insert the Instant Override link into the blocking page and allow granting temporary access to a blocked website.

Web Filtering Override - choose one of the options from the dropdown list. NOTE: Changes made here will disable all filtering for the time specified in the duration section. Users will be able to access any website without being restricted.

• With Password (recommended) - when the Instant Override link is clicked the user will have to enter a password to access the blocked web page.
• Without Password (warn only) - no password is required. The user will only see a warning that clicking the link may display inappropriate content.
• Off - disables Web Filtering Override. The user will still be able to override blocks caused by time limits, providing Instant Override is enabled for Time Management.

Time Management Override - choose one of the options from the drop-down list:

• With Password (recommended) - when the Instant Override link is clicked the user will have to enter a password to override the time restriction.
• Without Password (warn only) - no password is required. The user will only see a warning that clicking the link may display inappropriate content.
• Off - disables Time Override. The user will still be able to override blocks caused by time limits, providing Instant Override is enabled for Time Management.
• Duration - set the amount of time for Instant Override to remain in effect. Once this limit is reached, the block page will appear and will need to be overridden again. The user can change this limit if you have selected 'With Password (recommended)' and have allowed the user to change the duration within the Password dialog.

 

 

To create the Override Mode Password:

Click on Extended Features and select Passwords. Or If you are still on the 'Instant Override Settings' screen, you can click Up Menu button.

In the 'Override Modem Password' section enter and re-enter the password that will be used to provide temporary access to blocked or time restricted content. You can add a hint to remind you of a password, in case it is forgotten. NOTE: Your Headquarters (HQ) password can also be used to override the blocked content. However, it is recommended to make the Override Mode Password different from your Headquarters (HQ) password to avoid giving unauthorized users access to the rest of the filtering settings. Click 'Save' once the password has been selected.

If you find yourself having to frequently use Instant Override, check the reason for blocking and what category the blocked website belongs to. You can use that information to make the neccessary adjustments:

I have to use Instant Override to access one website in particular that is consistently blocked - add the blocked site to your allowed websites list.
I have to use Instant Override frequently to override blocks to a particular category of site - reduce the filtering strength for the category that Instant Override is over-blocking.